6 Comments

Right now Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert has been inspiring for me as well as going to see live music. It always fills me up with awe seeing live performances and the talent that comes through.

Current musicians:

Krishna Das

Porangui

Beyoncé

Yaima

Just to name a few ❤️✨

Expand full comment

I learned of her passing yesterday, but I've been really inspired by the artist Faith Ringgold. She was a civil rights era artist, and is most famous for her "story quilts" which were paintings on canvas surrounded by quilted frames, with a narrative story written onto the fabric. Faith's work depicted violence of the race riots in the 1960s, and other elements of her expierience as a black woman in America at her time. There's a really wonderful interview of her from Tate Modern on youtube where she goes into depth about her art career. I was lucky enough to see her work in person a couple months ago and felt inspired to start quilting.

Expand full comment